THE UNIVERSITY OF BRITISH COLUMBIA DEPARTMENT OF EARTH, OCEAN and ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES

SAFETY TEAM MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, April 25, 2019 ESB Room 2025 9:30am - 10:30am

Present: Renee Haggart (Co-Chair), Ian Ayeras (Secretary), Denise Feighan (PIMS), Mike Leblanc, Amy Chan, Rich Friedman, Kevin Lin (Data Science), John Mendes (MDRU)

Regrets: Tim Morgan, Roger Francois (Co-Chair), Peggy Ng (Statistics), Kate Blackburn (Faculty of Science), Lora Pakhomov, Katherine Raymond (Grad Student Representative)

Action Items:

Meeting called to order: 9:33AM

Adoption of previous Safety Committee Meeting Minutes: Thursday, February 28, 2019

Approved: ML Seconded: RF

1. ACCIDENT/INCIDENT REPORTS:

> N/A

2. ITEMS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES:

- RH reminds the dates for Fire Drill: Wednesday June 12 @10:30am for EOSM/EOSS and Monday June 17 @ 12:30pm for ESB
- John Mendes (MDRU) has been named floor warden of the 5th floor. Still need a few more floor wardens roster will be updated on EOAS website once confirmed.
- Review of Rock Crushing Room signage: contact information will need to change from Bryan Cranston to Tim Morgan. KR will be notified to make appropriate changes.

3. **NEW BUSINESS**

RF that fume hood passes have been marginal over the years due to strobic exhaust design issues. Notes that
any required specialized tests from the fume hood face velocity project that is dealing with these issues should
be considered core maintenance.

Meeting Adjourned 10:02AM

Next Safety Team Meeting - Thursday May 30, 2019